Cow Lake Pike Fishing

I got the chance to go kayak fishing with a good friend and long time fishing buddy. We decided to head out pike fishing, we just had to decide where to go. That decision was made for us when one of Hoang’s friends sent him a picture of a 14lb pike caught out of Cow Lake. I loaded the kayaks and gear into the truck and headed off to pick him up. We made the hour drive to the lake and got the boats ready to fish.

Hoang headed out on the water while I finished rigging up my new rods. Within 10-15 mins we found a great spot along the shore where the weeds had formed a floating bog. This floatilla had an undercut on it so it made for the perfect ambush location for the pike. We started throwing lures as close the edge as we could and within minutes Hoang had the first pike of the trip on, a feisty hammer handle critter.

Normally I am happy for anyone I am fishing with to get one on the line, but we had a little wager going for first, most, biggest and last. So I was already down $2. Oh well time to fish on and hope for the best. I had a few hard strikes but failed to seal the deal. In no time at all Hoang had another on the line. This time is was a decent 23″ well fed pike. Just as he was starting to gloat, I cast a large floating Rapala crankbaits right on the edge of the weeds. I had an instant strike but no hook up. Within 5′ of retrieval there was another strike, buy this one didn’t get away. My first pike of the season was on.

20130523-110510.jpg

Hoang managed to get this great pic of me bringing in my first pike. I was rather happy at that moment because my pike was 24.75″ and I was in the lead for the biggest fish.

20130523-110520.jpg

Not to be outdone, Hoang tied into another fish to help secure his “most” wager. This fish looked decent and now I had to measure it on the bump board, CRAP!!!  24.75″ as well. So much for me being in the lead for biggest!

I managed to land another pike, 23″, making me only one fish down from being tied for most. After a while I paddled back upwind and casted another perfect cast right on the edge of the weeds. As soon as the lure hit the water there was a splash and strike, but no fish!!! Two more strikes on the retrieve with no luck. Then finally I was able to set the hook on the fourth strike. This fish was definitely bigger than the last 2. As soon as I got it close enough to the kayak to see I knew if was over 25″. I landed the fish and measured it. 27″!!!! Score, I was now tied for most and had the biggest. That was the last pike we landed on our trip so another score for me. I was now $2 richer and had a great time fishing with a good friend.
20130523-110529.jpg

The pike itch has returned and I will keep heading out to scratch it all season long.

Tight lines and see you at the launch.

Mike

About Mike Zilkowsky

Thanks for taking the time to read my blogs and ramblings. This page is a way for me to put down my adventures for anyone to read and a way for me to preserve some of the adventures I have had solo or with friends and family so that one day my kids can pass down some of the stories they heard me sitting around telling family, friends and pretty much anyone who would listen. I hope you enjoy reading about these adventures as much as I enjoyed going out on them.
This entry was posted in Lake Reports and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment