2013 Wilderness Systems Ride 135 Advance Angler Rigging

IMG_2289

After using my kayak for a float down the Bow River I was finally ready to start rigging it up for the upcoming fishing season. I wanted to make sure this bad boy would handle a day of trout fishing and also a day of hard core pike fishing. I wanted to make sure that I addressed the need for silence while out fishing so I added some Silent Traction to the front of my kayak next to the front paddle keeper.

IMG_2291

I also added it to the standing platform and to the gunwales to help keep the noise down.

IMG_2311Since I usually have a crate, cooler or tub of some sort in the rear tankwell, I strategically placed more Silent Traction in there to keep the noise down and to stop unnecessary rubbing.

IMG_2294

I mounted a few small sections of the new Scotty Track onto the center console in order to be able to mount cameras, rod holders etc. within reach. With the Gear Head Track Adapters I am now able to quickly move gear from the side Slide Trax to the center console with a simple turn of the head and sliding it into the new track.

IMG_2292

I mounted my Lowrance Elite 5 DSI onto a Scotty post with a 1/4″ piece of HDPE for a base. I used the Lowrance Scupper transducer mount for my transducer and still needed a good system for my power. I settled on the Scotty Downrigger plug and receptacle. This would allow me to easily unplug the fishfinder and remove my transducer if needed and still have a water tight hull. I coiled up all the loose cables and tied them off to a small piece of HDPE I attached to the Scotty rod holder that came with the boat. Using this system I am able to take this unit off my kayak and use it on any other boat. I purchased an extra receptacle and mounted it on a water tight box with a Scotty deck mount on the lid to make this unit portable.

IMG_2309

I added some foam to the sides of my new Phase 3 AirPro elevated seat. This will allow me to place lures and flies to dry or for quick access for those locations where I am finding the need to change lures often.

IMG_2301

I purchased 2 sheets of 1/4″ HDPE to use to make some custom crates and other additions to my kayak. I took measurements of the tankwell on my Ride and got to work making a custom crate. I mounted 2 pieces of PVC in the crate angled slightly back to keep rods or nets in. I mounted a tool rack to the front of it to hold pliers, scissors and hook remover. On either side of the rack I mounted more of the foam for lures and flies. I mounted eyelets on the sides towards the back with short bungees to hold the back down. On the front I mounted J-clips to the sides to allow me to use the existing bungees on the tankwell to hold the front down.

My kayak is now ready to get out and enjoy the warm weather that is here and hopefully a lot of great memories will be made in this new toy with my friends and family on the water.

About Mike Zilkowsky

Thanks for taking the time to read my blogs and ramblings. This page is a way for me to put down my adventures for anyone to read and a way for me to preserve some of the adventures I have had solo or with friends and family so that one day my kids can pass down some of the stories they heard me sitting around telling family, friends and pretty much anyone who would listen. I hope you enjoy reading about these adventures as much as I enjoyed going out on them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 2013 Wilderness Systems Ride 135 Advance Angler Rigging

  1. James says:

    Hi. I came across your post on the fish finder install while searching for ideas on transducer through scupper installs on the 135 Ride. Was wondering how the above application worked out for you and the Lowrance scupper setup. Was it a secure and tight fit underneath the kayak? Any issues with dragging or callouts that I should be concerned with?
    Thanks
    James

    • Pikeyaker says:

      Sorry James. I didn’t see question pop up on my blog until now. I hope you found a solution. The scupper mount transducer from Lowrance worked really well on my Ride 135. I did not use the entire set up that they had included. I removed pieces of rubber so that the transducer was pulled tight against the bottom of the kayak.

      • Jeff says:

        Can you post a picture of your transducer on the bottom of your kayak? I just purchased this scupper mount for my own Ride 135 and am interested in seeing how you modified it.

        Thanks,
        Jeff

      • Pikeyaker says:

        I Jeff.. I actually sold this kayak a few years back. What fish finder do you have and what does your transducer look like? I had the Elite 5 dsi on mine and it had a long cylindrical transducer that allowed for a real tight almost flush mount.

    • JEff says:

      Ah… Thanks, I have the Elite4 HDI, so I have the flatter wide transducer. I still have about an inch between the top of the transducer and the base of the kayak with the standard install of the Lowrance scupper mount. I was curious how much trimming and where you did to get a snug fit.

  2. Jerry Corliss says:

    I like the custom crate. Do you have a post detailing how you made it?

Leave a comment